Review: ★Broken Play★ by Samantha Kane

Review Broken Play Broken Play
Series: Birmingham Rebels #1
Genre: Erotic Romance
Author: Samantha Kane
Release Date: September 1, 2015add-to-goodreads-button3

23834711-2

Perfect for fans of Shayla Black and Lexi Blake, the deeply sensual new Birmingham Rebels series introduces an unforgettable team of chiseled football gods—and the daring, provocative games they play behind closed doors.

Birmingham Rebels offensive linemen Beau Perez and Cass Zielinski are inseparable, on and off the field. Cass, the captain with the cowboy swagger, is a loose cannon. Beau, the veteran tight end, is cool under pressure. And ever since they were caught on tape in a steamy threesome, their exploits have fueled more than a few tabloid headlines—and naughty fantasies.

Marian Treadwell knows all about the video. And now that she’s the Rebels’ new assistant offensive coach, she can’t look at Beau and Cass without picturing their hard, naked bodies—with her pressed in between. Marian would like nothing more than to indulge those impulses, but she knows better than to get too close to her players, a bunch of adrenaline-fueled alpha males who don’t always follow the rules.

Just the thought of sharing the gorgeous yet guarded Marian drives Cass wild. At first, Beau isn’t sure she’s right for them . . . and lately, all he desires is a little alone time with Cass to explore their new intimacy. But it’s only a matter of time before Cass breaks through both of their defenses. Because when seduction is the game plan, he always plays to win.

Broken Play is intended for mature audiences.

Buy LinksAmazon / iBooks

Review2 Stars

Well…this is what happens when I read a book based on the hot cover alone. Le sigh. At first I was excited because it reminded me a little of another series I love but with hockey players, The Dartmouth Cobras series by Bianca Sommerland; biggest difference being that that series is heavy on BDSM and this one wasn’t.

Unfortunately, I’m past the point where I can read a smutty book for the pure enjoyment of hot sex scenes. I need a plot driver, I need character development, I need something other than hot sex to keep me reading, and this book just didn’t have that.

I love the concept and the sex scenes were hot and aplenty, but I needed more depth. I felt like I was jumping into the book halfway. The main 2 characters clearly have a history but it’s only briefly mentioned and not really developed. They meet the heroine who happens to be their team’s new assistant offensive coach. Marian has a very bad history with football players in her past and sleeping with two men is crossing a boundary, but yet they it takes them absolutely no time before they’re groping each other
The rest of the book goes something the lines of this:
Something happens.
SEX
Something else happens.
SEX.
Some other stuff happens.
SEX SEX SEX.

I thought I was reading the screenplay for a porn most of the time.

Look guys,
I felt no connection to the characters or the plot. I felt like all of it was muted in the constant sex fog. I got to the point where I was skimming most of the sex scenes because honest to god, my vagina hurt for Mariam.

It had a very hot MMF threesome which I usually love, but again, I need more depth to the story to connect to it. Then that last 20% happened and….

Yeah. No.

Listen, I’m not against some hot gang bang action here, if I felt like it actually fit the plot. But while there was a “reason” for it, I just didn’t think it was good enough. It totally came out of left field for me (pun intended). Suffice it to say I think this book managed to out perve me. Hot sex is all fine and dandy as long as it’s wrapped around the plot and not the other way around.

Will I read the rest of the series? Probably not simply because I just didn’t connect to any of the MCs or the secondary characters. It was all over the place for me. The writing was good, it was the story that was lacking for me. If you’re looking for a super hot and smutty MMF read, this is definitely the book for you.

Speak Your Mind

*

Copyright © 2015 · Dirty Girl Romance

%d bloggers like this: